My Poetry: The First & Last – by Nwadiogo

I asked for God to make you the first and last time

I thought it was the beginning of a never ending love story

Then it ended

And you became the first and last of something else

The first near death experience

The last not good enough

The last disrespect

The last confusion

The last dependency

The first to show me who I could be

The last I thought could take it away

So I hand it over to Abba

With a flick of some ill-placed tears

And a smile of knowledge of what’s to come

I hope this is the first and last time

And next time will be the last first time.

Leave a Reply

